SXSW Music Recap Day 4: March 16, 2013

IMG_2871Day 4 proved to be the day for day parties. Started the day on 6th Street attending the MPress Records’ day party featuring The Balconies, Rachael Sage, Melissa Ferrick, Seth Glier, A Fragile Tomorrow, Jesca Hoop, and A House for Lions. Unfortunately I’m not sure who I was able to catch at the party due to the extremely packed capacity. Bummer. Next move was literally across the street to the Oh La La Records day party. Don’t know if I just caught the tail end of the party, but for how great of a party it was or possibly had been there was such a lack of attendance. Besides the point, onto the music. I was able to catch Lightouts hailing from Brooklyn. As a northerner their sound and just shear fact they are from NY made me a tad bit homesick, but moving a long from the sappiness…

  • Lightouts: They have this rock-indie alternative sound that I’m just really digging. The songs are guitar driven and just so damn catchy in my opinion. One of my personal favorites “See Clear” I have shared below. But if you are really indo some indie rock, I really encourage you to check out their entire album Want. BTW just a shout out to the guys of the band for giving away their album at the showcase- I have absolutely been loving it! 

IMG_2855

The rest of the day was spend at the Georgia Theatre, Terminal West & 40 Watt Present: The Place To Be at Empire Automotive. Literally, this party was home to me (as I do live in Athens, GA). It was great to have familiarity down at SX and to see friendly faces all around.IMG_2862 The Lineup Included: Thomas Wynn and the Believers, The District Attorney’s, Roadkill Ghost Choir, Futurebirds, Moon Taxi, Swear and Shake, New Madrid, Easter Island, Glossary, and Pollies: Pretty much all Athens/Georgia favorites and staples. Here’s just a few samples from these awesome bands:

IMG_2872Later that night I headed to the Austin City Limits Live Stage to listen to the legend John Fogerty. First off, awesome venue. As soon as Fogerty took stage the entire show was a complete sing-a-long. Love or hate Creedence Clearwater Revival, I love. This was my first time and first opportunity ever to see Fogerty perform and I was not about to pass it up. Every song as a CCR fan and Fogerty fan you wanted to hear was played. One of the highlights of the evening was when Dawes was brought up on stage to sing “Someday Never Comes,” a collaboration between the two that can be found on Fogerty’s latest album.

Late night was spent listening to Shiny Toy Guns. I remember Shiny Toy Guns with their first album We are Pilots so it was fun to see them in a club setting and lead singer Carah Faye Charnow singing over DJ mixes with an EDM vibe.

Leave a Reply

