Meet me in the FOREST…

I’ve heard it’s a magical place. A special place. A life changing place. A place that once visited, will never be forgotten. Those are some pretty strong adjectives of a music festival. Then again, how should I know?- I’ve never been. How much music has become a part of my life, it even shocks me that I’ve yet to venture to such a festival, until this summer when I’ll be packing the car up and making the 874 mile, 15 hours 9 minutes to Rothbury, Michigan- birthplace of the Rothbury Festival which in 2011 became the Electric Forest.

With 4 months anticipation, I’ve decided to calm my over excitement by weekly exploring and reviewing all the bands from the initial lineup. Obviously the headliners were the biggest draw for me, and I have seen/heard of many of the other incredible bands on the lineup, but I’m mainly just plain curious about all the others. With knowing that it is not physically/humanly possible to catch all the acts that will performing, perhaps this (along with any suggestions-which are also welcome) will also streamline my show schedule.

See you in the Forest!

Electric Forest- June 28th – July 1st, 2012

Initial Lineup

The String Cheese Incident (3 Shows) – Bassnectar – STS9 (2 Shows) – Thievery Corporation – GirlTalk – Santigold – Steve Aoki – Ghostland Observatory – Richie Hawtin – Wolfgang Gartner – Major Lazer – The Travelin’ McCourys featuring Keller Williams – Dada Life – Big Gigantic – Datsik – Zeds Dead – 12th Planet – Borgore – Midnite – MiMOSA – EOTO – Das Racist – Reggie Watts – Rob Garza (Of Thievery Corporation) – Ivan Neville’s Dumpstaphunk – Paper Diamond – Felix Cartal – Gary Clark Jr. – Balkan Beat Box – Big Freedia – NiT GriT – The Infamous Stringdusters – Nickodemus – Chali 2na & the House of Vibe – Alvin Risk – The Soul Rebels – See-I – Glass Candy – Battles – Crizzly – Gramatik – Elephant Revival – Thunderball – Minnesota – Nobody Beats The Drum – Congo Sanchez – Fruit Bats –  The M Machine – Chromatics – Pictureplane – AutoErotique – Nathaniel Rateliff – Adventure Club – Afrolicious – Virtual Boy – The Funk Ark – Franki Chan – Brothers Past – HOTTUB – Zoogma – Cherub – Frank Mitchell Jr. – The Knocks – Vau de Vire Society – Morning Teleportation – DrFameus – Robert Rich – Quixotic – Chuck Flask & Keith Kemp – DJ SOLO – Ataxia- The Crane Wives – Secrets – WALA – Human Agency

Leave a Reply

